Why does “Hollywood” sometimes make better films with Biblical themes than Christians do.

My writing doesn’t always fall neatly into the genre of “Christian”.  However, since I am a follower of Christ,  my works do reflect my faith.  I’ve often thought that if we are children of God, the Supreme Creator, any art that we produce should bear his creative stamp.  I love the age old paintings, music, and writing that moves one to a sense of glory and awe.  I’m thrilled when I find newer works that do the same.  Still, as a writer, it’s easy for me to fashion words in fiction that might be powerful in real life relationships  seem lame in fiction.  At those times, I go back and re-craft.

Here’s an article that provides some insights into how Christian artists of all kinds can improve their work.  I don’t agree with everything in the article.  Also, simply because I am citing the article doesn’t mean that I am recommending the site from which it came.  However, the post does provide a lot to think about.   I  hope that you will enjoy reading along with me, Why do heathens make better Christian films than Christians do? by Thom Parham.

Here’s a meaty quote from Parham:

Jesus began many of his parables with the phrase, “The kingdom of God is like …” (He used this construct twelve times in the Gospel of Matthew alone.) In the book All the Parables of the Bible, Herbert Lockyer explains, “Because of His infinity, God had to condescend to those things with which man was familiar in order to convey the sublime revelation of His will.” Jesus’s parables allowed his audience to understand heavenly principles in earthly terms. He would even respond to questions with parables — instead of stating the answer outright, he would allow his audience to make the connections themselves. Jesus also knew that the things of heaven are too large to be fully grasped by the human mind. They are mysteries, in the classic sense of the word, and can only be hinted at through symbols and metaphors.

Christian filmmakers seem to dislike mystery. Rather than using Jesus’s construct, “The kingdom of God is like …,” their films often proclaim, “The kingdom of God is.” Nothing is left to the imagination.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

