Water…

I’m writing my second installment in a Tennessee Trilogy, and it’s called “By Streams of Water.”  Independently of that, I just read “The Scent of Water” by Elizabeth Goudge.  While it’s not my favorite of the few works I’ve sampled from Miss Goudge, I must say that the water imagery she uses throughout is captivating.  Her imagery, like the title of my book, has its roots in certain Biblical passages that refer to water.

All of this has me thinking about the way God uses water in his word.  The subject is too large to be the subject of one post, but I thought I’d mention a few of my favorite references:

The earth was formless and void, and darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was moving over the surface of the waters.  Genesis 1:2

My message shall drop as the rain, my speech shall distil as the dew, as the light rain upon the tender grass, and as the showers upon the herb.  Deuteronomy 32:2

Many waters cannot quench love, Nor will rivers overflow it; If a man were to give all the riches of his house for love, It would be utterly despised.”  Song of Solomon Chapter 8

I will even make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.  For I will pour water upon him who is thirsty, and floods upon the dry ground.  I will pour My Spirit upon your offspring and My blessing upon your descendants.  And they shall spring up among the grass like willows or poplars by the watercourses. Isaiah 44

Ho! Every one who thirsts, come to the waters; And you who have no money come, buy and eat. Come, buy wine and milk Without money and without cost. Isaiah 55:1

But whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4

But one of the soldiers pierced His side with a spear, and immediately blood and water came out.  John 19:34

And now what are you waiting for? Get up, be baptized and wash your sins away, calling on his name.’  Acts 22:16

For the Lamb at the center of the throne will be their shepherd; he will lead them to springs of living water. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.” Revelation 7

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

